A stunning, tree-lined course recognised by The R&A as an Open Qualifying venue and a regular host for England Golf and Kent County events. Originally laid out in 1890, the Professional Golfer appointed to design the initial layout is sadly unknown although James Braid, most famous for his creation of the King's and Queen's courses at Gleaneagles, made a number of design changes including the new par-3 5th hole which came into play in 1929.
It is heavily wooded with tree-lined fairways and is more than capable of defending itself against longer hitters with small and undulating greens. It is a course where both straight driving and attention to well-placed bunkers is essential. The course has few severe slopes and affords easy walking, thus providing an entertaining battleground and examination for golfers of all abilities.
At just over 6,500 yards the course is a test of shot-making, rather than distance and, with the exception of two new holes created in 1969 (16th and 17th), has remained very much unchanged over the past 60 years. That it still remains difficult to beat par, despite changes in the modern game, is tribute to the original design that has for decades stood the test of time.
Click on the hole numbers above to view a description of each hole, kindly provided by our Head Professional, Phil Beever.